Famous people sometimes give their opinions on public topics. Is this a good thing? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many public-figures are often seen expressing their views on public matters. In my opinion, i think it can bring both advantages and disadvantages to people and the nation as a whole.

Firstly, due to the enormous amount of fan following, when a celebrity expresses his opinion on any general topic, their followers to support it blindly. In other words, these famous people have a special place, power and liberty to persuade millions of people with their views on any given matter. Hence, while it can be utilized for the betterment of society to influence people for a good, few celebrities are seen to use this power for their own sake. For instance, in a recent incident in one of the prestigious universities of India, where some rioters entered and vandalized its property due to some heated political debate, a well-known Bollywood actress Dipika Padukone reached there to show her support, however, it turned out to be a public stunt for promoting her latest movie.

Another point to highlight is that although these notorious people sometimes try to influence people for the good by highlighting several facts, it sometimes turns into a controversy due to their lack of knowledge and expertise in the particular area. For instance, On social media platforms these days, many celebs are being trolled for their dumb opinions and comments on social heated issues. While on the other hand, when an expert scientist or a news reporter provides their thoughts on general social problems such as poverty, corruption, increasing crime and environmental issues, most of the people take their advice and facts more seriously and make sure to act on those.

In conclusion, although these known people positively inspire many citizens towards several serious matters, avoiding orchestrated opinions, and broaden their horizons about the current affair would aid to this concern.