Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Many organizations take scores of factors into account while inviting applications for a given job. The recruiters seek some additional personal information like marital status and leisure activities. Some say employers or recruiters should be confined to pertinent information while others are the proponent of this trend. I would present my support arguments for the former view.

Those who consider personal information as irrelevant say that the minimum required data is enough for any employer. For instance, an employer wants a marketing person would only need to see if the prospective incumbent possesses the relevant academic qualification and certain years of experience. The private data shows nothing about the applicant and may undermine the capabilities of other candidates. All applicants should be given fair chance irrespective of their marital status or hobbies.

On the other hand, I would argue that the job market is competitive not only because of a large number of experienced applicants seeking jobs but also a limited number of jobs. To illustrate this point, thousands of students are graduating in a number of disciplines every year and many are already in the market for the accumulation of experience. The recruiter when finds himself/herself in a dilemma of choosing from a large number of similar experience candidates restores to other factors to assess competencies. It’s generally believed that a married person will be more responsible as he carries the burden of the family. Furthermore, hobbies also shed lights on the behavioral perspective of the applicant. If a person only watches movies in his free time while other do some sports or voluntary work, would have an advantage.

To sum up, I strongly believe that requirements of extra details about oneself is justified and serve as a decisive factor in hiring