Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is often a heated debate on the requirement of providing personal information to employer at the recruitment process stage. There are two dimensions of this argument, a group of people asserts that giving personal information about interests and marital status holds no value, whereas, the other group is of the view that additional information about the candidate will help the recruiters choosing the right candidate. In my opinion, I completely agree with the idea of sharing maximum information with employer to help them hire the right resource for any potential job.

To start with, by providing detailed information about lifestyle, hobbies and marital status, helps employers to identify the best possible position they can fit the employee into. For instance, for choosing a marketing analyst, apart from academic achievements, recruiters look for a person being more socially active and a researcher. In the same context; for a sales job, HR and department heads looks for a person being outspoken, having convincing powers and an extrovert. All such information can be easily analyzed by reading additional personal information written on the C.V.

On the contrary, those people who are reluctant sharing their personal details are of the view that upon asking for such information, potential employees might exaggerate the information or misrepresent in order to leave an impressive impact. In addition to this; employers may loose on the best resource for the vacant position proven academically and with solid experience; just by knowing their personal side which they might not like.

In a nutshell, in order to find the right candidate for the position, the best possible solution is to gather maximum information about the resource and validate the information during interview. This will not only help recruiters but in longer perspective will benefit employee to choose the right career path during development dialogue with manager.