Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single.

some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is irrefutable that nowadays interviewers are seeking for personal information and marital status to choose candidates whether they are suitable for their works. Some counter arguments by section of people who don't believe to ask personal information or interest and this is irrelevant to the interview. I am of the opinion that this mater should be debated before any conclusion can be drawn.

On the other hand, there are some logical behind to ask about their own information or ambitions or hobbies to job seekers in order to selection criteria. Firstly, manager or higher official has to know to select the candidate can able to suitable for their jobs, if any family commitments or if they have an own interest to start any business in that scenario who can not be selected for longer term projects work. Secondly, female candidates who is single they can work for longer term work until they get marry after then they will plan to go for pertinacity leave so this is manager or Human Resource team responsibilities to identify the person accordingly. For Instance, in India, there are minimum 15% people who generally in pertinacity leave and temporary people who handle their work.

On the one hand, general information are not really important to interview criteria in order to choose the right person. Most important scenario that we need to identify the person who is having more analytical skill and problem solving method that we have to identify it. Secondly, how they strong in their categories of work and how much they involved about their existing process these are questions will give a good candidate to the team. Finally, work adaptability, mingle with the team and motivation are the best skills to choose the right candidates.

To sum up this, employer can identify the candidate based on their own information about themselves or marital status will provide a good candidate to the team. However, Employer has to identity the candidate based on his past working experience and not with their extra activities.