Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is well known fact that companies collect information about all job applicants. However collecting personal data about potential employees before they join is a matter of debate. In this essay, we will look both side of the argument and then I will express my viewpoint.

Firstly, many of the companies enquire about individuals personal preferences because they want to see if it matches with company culture. One of the reason for that many companies have various groups and sport clubs. If a candidate is having similar interest it could be beneficial for both employer and employee. For example, Google has its soccer team which partcipates in annual Seattle IT Sports Tournament and they could be in search of players for team, which could be helpful to have new employee which match the required skill-sets for the game.

On the contrary, there is view that personal data is secondary and first and foremost priority should be given to individual caliber and his work experience. How much does a person align with roles and responsibilities of the job and whether they are capable enough to do the it. For example, there is no need of taking interview of candidate if he has applied as a surgeon and never done surgery and is only being interviewed because he is good at certain activity or has particular interest.

In my opnion such information is not much relevant, an individual's knowledge, experience and his working caliber should be priority before any of their trivial attributes.

In conculsion, having personal information when applying for employment is not much relevant, Although is good way to know the individual in different aspect other than just fix set of criteria.