Euthanasia, or mercy killing, has been a controversial issue for many years. Although many people are strongly against such a practice, there is a growing demand to have it legalized. How far do you agree with euthanasia is being made legal?

Gone are the days when people used to die naturally whereas in this technological epoch number of medical techniques have been introduced where euthanasia is being practiced. A section of society completely favours this practice however others are more suspicious about its repercussions. To my mind, this is definitely a genuine action but under certain circumstances, elucidated in the upcoming segments.

First and foremost reason of adhering the mercy killing is that sometimes patient is in critical condition and there is no more hope of survival. To be more precise, when patient is on ventilator and doctors fail to save and it leads to financial drain for families, in such cases splashing out huge amount of money on treatments is worthless. Not only this but also when the mind stop responding and and there is not any physical response; at that time chances of recovery are nill. Therefore, euthanasia should be experimented. Aruna shanbag, for example, and Indian nurse was sexually harassed by a ward boy in the hospital in Mumbai, she remained in comma for 11 years, finally was killed with the consent of family and doctors.

However, another segment of society oppose as they believe that no one has right to end anyone's life as nobody should play with the natural cycle. To illustrate, miracles do happen and one should never lose expectations of being healthy since willpower and mentality of patients to work. Nevertheless, if a person has lived a beautiful life like octogenarians and has a traumatic experience but they are bedridden so putting efforts to save such people is of no importance as they are on the last stage of life span who will die maximum with in 2 or 3 years.

To recapitulate, vehemently vouch that where professional doctors can not save the patient there euthanasia is a supreme idea to be practiced under some conditions with legal permission of patient, family ,government and doctors otherwise it may be misused which may pose a threat on human life.