Every country should have a free health service; even if that means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through this service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer.

Access to reliable and state of the art medical facilities is important for the people of any country. Advancement in medical treatment and medical technology has dramatically increased its cost over the last few years and has made it unaffordable for many people in the society. However, it is a primary duty of the state to take care of their people and provide them free health services.

Firstly, it would be extremely difficult for unemployed and aged people to afford medical treatments in absence of free health services. As they do not have any source of income, thus it makes them more susceptible to death in the case of illness. In addition to this, the government is responsible for the wellness of its citizens and therefore should take necessary actions to improve people health by providing them lofty treatment without charging any single penny.

Secondly, the health care services should be prioritizing. People may have access to consultation and other general services without any restrictions. It is their legitimate right given by the government, to avail quality medical treatment free of cost. However, some disease such as cancer and heart attack are more vulnerable and demand more attention and care, thus making its treatment more expensive. Hence, free access to more specializes and expensive treatment may need some restrictions and should need some legislation to select limited patients because of excessive cost involved.

To sum up, I would like to say that health is primary constituent of people lives. Therefore it should be funded and supported by government to provide good health services to their citizen without charging them.