The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

From the inception of human existence, humans have always tried to make their life more comfortable. While they have already discovered myriads of transportation options, but still, due to scarcity of natural resources, there is a room for growth. Whether different forms of transportation options should be encouraged or not, while making a standard practice of law globally, with car ownership and utilization, is a moot topic. I strongly agreed with the former notion and will elucidate further to support this point with required arguments and illustrations.

There are a myriad of reasons, but the most preponderant one is lack of natural resources. As we all know, nature gave us its beautiful things like air, water, crude oil etc, to consume it without spending a single penny but unluckily, it is having limited quantity. However, if we use all of them for private use like private cars, it will not only affect mother nature, but also will increase the consumption of resources. Consequently, it will affect nature with more pollution. Alternatively, governments must come forward and promote different forms of transport in order to use natural resources maximally.

Another pivotal aspect to save our planet with different forms of transportation is that, there must be some standard rules for vehicle ownership and use of private means of transportation, across the globe. Government must develop a transport system like there should not be use of private mode of transport required. On the other hand, residents must pay a huge levy to the government, for keeping more than one vehicle. One of the best examples is a country like Singapore which already designed the public transport system perfectly, where local residents never ever feel the pain of transportation just because of awesome feasible public transport options with all the best amenities. Another notion from my perspective is being a human we should also take responsibility and take care of this earth, with proper consumption of natural resources.

On the basis of the above discussed points, one can conclude that there must be standard rules across the globe to save mother and must be an international law to protect earth.