Government should limit the number of hours a person can work to 35 per week.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that state authorities should restrict the working hours to 35 per week. This essay totally agrees with this statement because this helps to increase workers’ well-being and boost productivity.

When employees work less than 40 hours per week, people can have more leisure time and they can achieve a balance between career and home life. This is because men and women are able to spend extra time on recreational activities and family togetherness. Moreover, they also focus on providing childcare and assistance for the elderly instead of working long hours. For example, according to the OECD Better Life report in 2018, only 2% of Danish employees work regularly longer than 35 hours and Danes have a better work-life balance than other countries surveyed.

Another reason is increasing productivity in the economy because workers can work more effectively after fully recovering. In other words, employees that have more free time to recharge their batteries after work have fewer days off sick and work harder. Furthermore, people who have a job and life satisfaction increased in all levels also perform better and enjoy their jobs. For instance, in 2018, a New Zealand firm adopted 35 hours per week rule permanently after the eight-week trial in early 2018 that has resulted in 20% more productivity from its workers.

In conclusion, I believe that governments should force employers to allow their employees to work 35 hours per week because this will lead to improving the well-being of society and enhancing the productivity of the economy.