Happiness is difficult to define. Why?

Happiness means different for different people. Everyone wants to be happy in this world; however, there are only few people who are actually blessed. In the current contemporary world, a lot of people believe that wealth gives happiness while others consider love and inner peace responsible to form the base of a happy life. This essay will discuss how happiness varies from one person to another.

A plethora of people seek happiness in wealth and spend most of their time and energy in acquiring it. But, money does not give real happiness although it merely provides man with the basic amenities and materialistic comforts of life but not the emotional and spiritual satisfaction. In this present age, people, especially youngsters, strive for happiness in fashion, drinks and drugs as they wish to escape from the problem-ridden world into a world of dreams. They try to deprive pleasure from these things without realizing that these are only temporary and are more harmful than helpful.

Another bunch of people find happiness in the terms of love, affection, emotional and spiritual satisfaction. According to them, it is love that makes man happy from both; inside and outside. It is love between children and parents, lover and beloved, teacher and student, master and servant, man and god, friends, neighbors, et cetera. Love is the real storehouse of cheerfulness. Also, many students feel happy after attaining a desired result from their examinations or people feel happy after reaching a higher place after the hard work they have done. However, lack of love may cause stress and depression in life.

Thus, happiness is difficult to define as it varies from person to person off all age groups.