An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed material like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give reasons and include any relevant examples from your own experience.?

As we move into the 21st century, technology is affecting different areas of life and education is no exception. There are a large number of schools that are providing computers to their students for effective learning, by completely changing the old traditional methods of teaching from hard copies such as providing books and assignments. This new approach has multiple benefits, but also has significant drawbacks.

The first and the foremost merit of introducing computers into classrooms is that the students are more likely to be well versed with the technology. To be more clear, in this tech-savvy era every younger should know how to make the best use of electronic devices, particularly in studies. Secondly, the fewer papers are used in the academic institutes, more the trees will be saved. This means that, due to the large requirement of paper, approximately thousands of trees are cut down, in order to produce a single roll of a paper. Thus, saving the environment from these green practices.

Moving further, there are also some major drawbacks to this practice, firstly, due to the continuous usage of laptops in school; resulting in the poor visibility of young children. Explaining in detail, as the blue rays that are emitted from the screen of computers are considered to be very harmful to the human eyes, wearing spectacles is the main reason amongst children. Moreover, some students find it very stressful to read on e-devices, and eventually lose their interest in studies. As most of their batchmates in different schools are still studying with traditional ways of teaching.

In conclusion, after discussing both the pros and cons in detail, I opine by saying that there are major benefits of choosing laptops for study which outshine some of the negatives.