It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Giving a year break after high school study becomes a popular trend in these years. Although some people claim that it is helpful for undergraduate study and career life, some argue that it will bring to the bad things. In this essay, the benefits and drawbacks of taking a year break before undergraduate study will explain.

Firstly, students can gain advantages by having a year off after the high school. Depending on how they spend the break times, the children can have different exposure for their life. For example, if they join an internship program, they will have a chance to understand the behavior of the job industry or even if they are on vacation, invaluable experiences can gain from travelling different part of the world. The experiences improved during that period will support in career life.

On the other hand the disadvantages behind having long break from studying should not be ignored. There always has a great probability of the children not continuing university study after the break. For instance, earnings from working as interns or part-time jobs can stop them from continuing education that can lead to harder career in future. Therefore, parents need to take extra cautions before giving a break.

Despite of the valuable advantages of taking a year off after basic education, there still have risks behind this concept unfortunately. However, parents should let the students to have a long break to achieve a new point of view from study life and definitely find a way not disrupting the education pathway.