It has been proved that smoking kills. In some countries it has been made illegal for people to smoke in all public places except in certain areas. All countries should make these rules. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Research has shown that smoking results in many diseases, such as cancer, which will undoubtedly shorten the life of smokers. Some governments have banned smoking in public places except in some certain areas. Some believe such rule should be laid by all governments. I agree with this opinion due to several reasons which will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with, prohibiting public smoking leads to faster growth of the economy of the country. When one smokes in the public, not only does smoking harm that person, but it affects all the people in that area. Therefore, it can be said that public smoking leads to spread of diseases among citizens, forcing the government to dedicate a large proportion of its budget cure these illnesses. However, by simply quelling public smoking, this pile load of precious taxes can be saved and invested in boosting the economy or other important matters. Research has shown that Chinese government has been saving up to 100 million dollars each year by banning public smoking, resulting in two percent additional growth of the Chinese economy annually.

Moreover, public smoking is nothing but pure injustice. As said, smoking kills, so when one smokes in public, what one actually does is not just committing suicide but killing other innocent people at the place, who have done nothing wrong but being in the place.

Despite what was said, it must be taken into account that forcing people not to smoke at public is a violation of their freedom. Although these people have done no crime and are just some smokers, restricting them to be in a particular place is like being behaved as a criminal, which is just unfair.

To sum up, even though freedom matters, illegalizing public smoking is a good move. This act will lead to saving innocent bystanders, saving money and boosting the economy.