In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing.

What do you think are the main causes of crime?

How can we deal with those causes?

For the last two decades the level of crime has significantly increased. In the past years it could happen very rarely when TV news were observing crime scene, such as homicide or robbery. Now everything has changed. The number of criminals has been growing regardless anything. This situation is caused by some problems and I want to discuss them.

The main cause is total economical unrest and instability that appeared in my country. Level of salaries is very low and people not able to pay even their accommodation bills. A lot of inhabitants are coerced to have a second job in order to maintain their families. But sorry to say, a great deal of population doesn’t see any possible solution to keep themselves alive, they become involved in stealing, smuggling, hijacking and list goes on and on.

The second reason is that punishment for crimes is not severe enough. Twenty-five years ago, Ukraine rejected a death penalty. The most austere punishment is imprisonment for life. Obviously, this is not enough to protect our community. The famous criminals have strong connections in criminal world and they don’t afraid of a prison. It is second home for them.

There are a lot of possible solutions to resolve this situation and avoid possible consequences. First of all, government ought to develop economic progress and don’t compel people to find different sources of revenue. Secondly, our children ought to be motivated in righteous way, they should understand that criminal way of life is forbidden. And finally, people should be afraid of possible consequences.

In conclusion, I’d like to say that everything is up to us and this is our matter of life to leave a decent legacy and happy posterity.