Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Governments in all countries have some visions and responsibilities and they are sought to achieve the overall developments of the country for a prosperous future. Thus many governments think that economic progress is the key to success while others disagree with this notion and opine that many other aspects such as green environment, security, social values, traditions and peace among nations are even more important. I personally believe that economic success of a nation is an important goal for a government but this is not the most important goal.

To start, many developed countries have already gained the economic progress and yet they are suffering from increased crime rates, hostile relationship with other nations, internal chaos, corruption and outbreak of epidemic diseases. Thus economic progress had failed to ensure better life standard of citizens and this is a proof that only economic progress should not be the vision of a government. On the contrary, without economic stability, a government cannot ensure development in education, defence, healthcare, international trade and safety of citizens.

Again, industrialisation and success in trades have ensured economic stability to many western and Asian countries and yet the environmental damage that this progress has caused is overwhelming. What good money would bring to a nation if they cannot build a safe and green environment for the next generation? However, many people would also argue that it is better to leave a prosperous country to the new generation rather than leaving a broken economy.

Furthermore, economic progress requires many monopoly business implementations, dominance in international trade and use of cheap labours from other countries. That can only make other nations hostile and history tells us that wars are imminent due to the competition of being rich among nations. On the contrary, without economic success a country cannot defend itself from outer threats, fight with epidemic diseases and cannot ensure proper healthcare facilities to its citizens. Finally, some would say, with the economic progress the country will lose its old way of living, traditional values and uniqueness as a nation. But it should also be considered that change is the fundamental basis of development and if a nation worries too much about the old way of living, it would fail to ensure development compared to other nations.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that economic progress should be an important goal for a government but there are still many aspects which are equally important.