Many employees may work at home with the modern technology. Some people claim that it can benefit only the workers and does not benefit employers at all.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With aid of the latest technology there are many employees working from home, whereas there are few who claim this does not benefit job providers. I agree to the point that it benefits professionals, but I disagree that there is no advantage to the companies.

Considering firstly the advantages of working from home for staff, an important one to consider is that they get to support family in an emergency. Of late with majority of families being nuclear in nature and both parents being working professionals, if a child falls sick, then it is either of the parents who need to look after the child. In such scenarios, the feasibility of work from home will be beneficial as they need not lose out on privileged leaves. As a result, the employee will be able to meet business targets and look after the offspring as well.

On the other hand, the cardinal reasons why I deny that there are no benefits to the companies are that they help in maintaining employee satisfaction and continuity of the business. With regards to the former, as discussed above, if an organization supports the workers in their emergencies, the professionals tend to be loyal, thereby, creating satisfaction. As for the latter, whenever there are climatic disasters, with availability of telecommuting, an employee can continue daily work. Contradistinction, these benefits would have not been possible without this option.

In conclusion, in my perspective, there are definite benefits to the personnel such as standing by family during emergencies and for the company, the merit of worker satisfaction and continuity in flow of work, all these are possible due to working from home.