Many people try to look younger than their age. What are the reasons people do this? Do you think this is a good thing or a bad thing?

The way one looks plays a key role in today’s world, as people often judge others based on their looks. For this reason, people try various ways to give an impression by looking younger. There are several reasons for this trend and I think, this is toxic to the society as it has detrimental affects on physical as well as mental health.

To commence, as people age, it is natural for the skin to form wrinkles and hair to turn grey. However, people find it difficult to accept this fact as they feel their importance is being lost in the society with every new generation that comes. In addition to this, cosmetics companies are trying to turn this obsession of people favourable to them by manufacturing anti-aging creams and hair dyes. To illustrate, in the last decade, the sales of anti-aging creams and Botox treatments have sky rocketed by featuring famous movie stars, whose only ambition is to look young. Thus, all these factors are creating a compulsion in individuals to appear youthful.

Nevertheless, people who are undergoing mid-life crisis are succumbed to the cosmetic industry strategy. Despite realising genes play a significant role in the way one looks, people are spending extravagantly on treatments. For example, recently botox has become popular with the glamour field, although there are reported cases that it has the tendency to cause paralysis. Admittedly, celebrities posting pictures of their flawless looks is developing inferiority complex in individuals and are eventually getting depressed. Therefore, this trend poses a serious threat to the society.

To conclude, as people has an underlying desire to look young, beauty industry is encashing this weakness of people. Therefore, several detrimental affects on physical and mental health are caused when individuals are obsessed with young looks.