Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities.

Does this situation has more advantages or more disadvantages ?

Working for longer periods of time, keeps people away from leisurely activities. In my opinion, however, it has an adverse effects both physically and mentally resulting in serious illness.

On the one hand, we live in a competitive world, where we work hard to secure a higher position, thereby improving our financial status in the society. We all crave for a luxurious life, and crazily slog extra hours to afford materialistic satisfaction. Workaholic groups, feel their leisurely activity is work altogether. For example, Narayanamoorthy, founder of Infosys, one of the biggest software company, who once worked more hours to achieve, the position today. Nevertheless, all the efforts put in today, never goes in vain.

On the other hand, workers are open to risks namely obesity, cardiac diseases and psychological illness. While, the high-pressure duties keep the stress levels increased, many of them are already on medications in their mid-30s. Furthermore, it is evident with the decreasing life span among stressed working community, showing how worse the problem is.

In addition, although, the job demands high working hours, it is every individual’s responsibility to spend enough time on a fitness regime or a sport. Even though, we are running behind work all day, it is high time we understand the importance of clean eating and exercise. For example, news relating to employee’s death at workplace, due to cardiac arrest, shook the working professionals recently. Moreover, it is good to have games and sports now and then, to push employees, take some time for themselves even during the office hours or outside this time.

In conclusion, without any hindrance to fun time, duty hours have to be managed by the working population, as the consequences are unimaginable loss to mankind. Health is wealth, key for a happy living.