In many places, new homes are needed, but the only spaces available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about this?

Presently, the problem of a living space has risen into prominance in many places of the country. There is absolutely no way to build new houses in some cities, and a lot of people suggest to carry out construction in the countryside. However, it is a controversial topic introducing heavy debates.

Opponents of urbanisation of farmer rural areas state that is would cause a dramatic effect on the natural ecosystem of such places. The most drastic consequences are caused by infrastructure that necessarily follows any human settlement- that is roads, power lines, means of water supply and such. The construction of those engineering projects leads to destruction of natural bioms of ponds, rivers and forests, causing many animals to migrate or go extinct. The arguments of environmentalists do make sense, but there also valuable ideas supporting the countryside occupation.

First of all, not even the most extreme supporters of spreading urbanisation maintain that all of the countryside should be filled with homes all over the place. In fact, there are good examples of even larger cities liing perhaps not in harmony with surrounding nature, but at least in some form of cooperation. Having a considerable amounts of parks inside inhabited area help both people to feel themselves better and plants and animals to have some sort of home. If I may to present and example, the city of Zoporishla where I live has a large island between the parts of the city which is covered with trees and largely unoccupied, being a nice counterpart to heavily populated nearby districts.

in conclusion, I would like to stress that while opponents of countryside settlements have many valid points, the situation is not as drastic as they portray it, and the co-existence of human population with nature is quite possible.