Many wear like to wear fashionable clothes. Why do you think this is the case? Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

It is human nature to want to be different, and to stand-out in a crowd, rather than blending in. Because of this, people prefer to wear fashionable clothes. While I view this as mostly a favorable thing, I believe that are some downsides to be wary of. In this essay, I will discuss both the positive and negative effects of this trend.

In my opinion, it is perfectly normal for people to prefer wearing fashionable clothes, as it is a medium of expression at a sub-conscious level. How a person chooses to dress-up himself/herself is a reflection of the person's personality. Fashionable clothes help people to express themselves. For example, an artist might prefer to choose clothes with vivid colors. Additionally, wearing stylish clothes also promotes the mixing of diverse cultures. Since fashionable clothes are often designed by combining themes that usually span across cultural boundaries, it also helps to encourage creativity and tolerance of foreign cultures. The world would be monotonous and boring without the popularity of fashionable clothes. Moreover, the demand for stylish clothes also fuels the economy by creating jobs in various sectors.

On the other hand, the are some adverse effects of the popularity of fashionable clothes. Firstly, with the popularity of fashionable clothes, there is an increasing trend to buy clothes that are ridiculous and impractical. People, mainly the younger generation, is influenced by TV advertisements and celebrity endorsements to buy clothes that are neither good-looking nor practical. Secondly, the fashion industry is very fast-paced, due to which clothes might become out of date in a week. Furthermore, the fashion industry invents trends to trick people into buying more clothes. One clear example is the latest trend of layered clothes, which involves wearing a lot of thin layers instead of wearing one thicker layer. Not only does this result in naïve people wasting their money, but it also produces a lot of waste, which is harmful to the environment.

In conclusion, although wearing trendy clothes is generally a good thing, people should think thoroughly before blindly following this trend.