Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time and have problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

Nowadays, a number of workers do not devote time to physical exercise. Consequently, they might fall prey to some health issues. This essay agrees that their inclination towards working overtime and technology are the two prominent causes of this grave issue, which can be mitigated by maintaining a work-life balance and awareness campaigns should be organized at workplaces by management to motivate workers to perform outdoor activities.

Primarily, investing extra hours at offices is the biggest reason behind this trend. That is to say, owing to the burgeoning costs of the necessities, people have to work around the clock to fulfill the rudimentary needs of their family members, such as education and medical services expenses, that might not be possible without spending overtime in organizations. As a result, they prioritize to utilize their leisure time in earning money. Apart from this, the way of consuming free hours on electronic gadgets by individuals can also be held accountable for not performing workout. In other words, due to the diverse means of entertainment provided by technological devices, people remain glued to these screens, get deprived of exercise; as a result, they become obese, which in turn give rise to other health ailments, such as hypertension and diabetes. A recent survey conducted by WHO in 2019 has discloses that about 56% of people are falling sick, because they prefer utilizing time on watching movies on their devices rather than going outside.

In regard to the solution, making a rapport between work and personal life is a prudent measure to alleviate this difficulty. This is because, a proper routine followed by the workers would not only provide them a stress free mind for working hard and achieving the desired sum of money, but also give them chance to remain hale and hearty by spending a few hours on workout. Furthermore, the onus also rests on the shoulders on the higher authorities of the organizations. As employees play an indispensable role in the prosperity of a y businesses, the management should also promote and encourage workers to include some kind of activities related to physical movements in their daily schedule by arranging seminars at their premises. In Japan, for example, a majority of marketing companies organize some sports events once a month to develop interests of their staff members in these activities.

On balance, owing to the trend followed by the most of the staff to work after office hours and utilizing sizeable amount of time on digital screens, I am convinced that a proper balance should be made by the employees between office and personal life; also industries should come forward to generate the self awareness among staff members, so that they can become physically as well as mentally fit.