Money offered for postgraduate research is limited: As a consequence, some people argue that financial support from the government should only be provided for scientific research rather than research for less useful subjects. Do you agree or disagree

With limited public funding, many countries tend to give priorities to research for “hard sciences” rather than “soft science”. Research on both can benefit society as a whole in different ways. Therefore, I disagree with the given statement that government should fund only be for scientific research.

Government funding for postgraduate research is limited, so clearly, decisions need to be made concerning the research that receives priority. Our modern global system relies a lot more on science and technology. So, I think that this is where the majority of funding should go. Countries that are in the lead as far a scientific development is concerned are the ones most likely to be successful. If we rank countries by their level of scientific development and then by their economic success, the two lists will look similar. Scientific developments will most probably result in work opportunities, including chances for those without science backgrounds.

The role of science and technology in promoting the development of a country is widely acknowledged. One prominent example is that prevalent use of computer technology, which has significantly improved the efficiency of our work and changed our lifestyle. Technological achievements are attributed to the advancement of scientific theories and their applications. The government ought to provide financial support for the teaching of science, such as building new laboratories, purchasing advance equipment and awarding outstanding scientists. If the government gives priority to scientific subjects, it would encourage more students to devote themselves to science, which would benefit the country and the world as a whole.

However, I do not think that all of the government money should go towards scientific research at the postgraduate level. Science is important, but it is not everything. Other subjects, for example, art, also deserve attention and support of the public and government. Philosophy and literature prompt students to reflect on the significance of life and develop a positive attitude towards the world. History and geography help to broaden the horizon of students and make them wise and open-minded. Therefore, we should not ignore the status of other subjects in our education system.

To recapitulate, the government consider and fund not only the area of science but also should include non-scientific research too.