News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

In recent years TV and newspapers have been incorporating images to their news stories to ensure people get at first what the story is about. This mechanism has brough the attention from the media on how people react and receive their messages on different topics. This effect has shown the importance to use additional material to every topic that needs to be communicated.

Firstly, it is knowing that some part of their audience believes that using visual material causes good impact on the way that they act to different situations. Thus, reporters have realized the need to be supported by images when they give news that require such impact to the audience. For instance, a snow fall warning needs to be accompanied by maps to show receivers exactly where the issue is and hoe them need to be protected.

Secondly, it should not be forgotten the other portion of the audience that for many reasons cannot put attention on images. This audience needs to react on words rather than pictures. They believe that by having words they can actually, identify each situation have an idea what serious the news is and move to the next step. For example, people working in factories they cannot lose their attention on their duties; but can still hear any news and communicate each other what they need to do.

Thus, in my opinion the media sectors need to combine both activities in their news stories. They need to impact their audience in such way that receivers still get the right messages by using only words or pictures or both. At the end of the day is their responsibility to cover both sides of the population and make sure they would react on each message provided.