News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

It is irrefutable to say that media plays a significant role in our daily life by sharing updates on the latest events and happenings. In order to increase media sales and viewership on Television, various innovative ways are implemented and commonly used such as using pictures and videos. A response observed from public demonstrates that some prodigies advocate that having pictures is advantageous than words. In my opinion, both words and images have their own importance as they both fulfill disparate purposes.

Undoubtedly, pictures are one of the easiest and convenient ways to transmit a message as it provides a quick information about the context. It is well suited for the people who are accustomed to the fast-moving lifestyle and sparingly get time to read through the entire content. To illustrate, I recently saw a news article in the Hindustan Times about a fire incident in the building which was exemplified with a picture demonstrating fumes and flames emerging out of a housing society. I was able to grasp the content in no time as the image accurately described the incident.

Although photos with news assists in inferencing news faster, but they lack providing descriptive information where text or speech plays a crucial role in bridging this gap. For example, a news pertaining to a new car launch in the market displays image to flaunt its exquisite style whereas it’s actual specifications and engineering innovations are covered by the reporter in the TV or the news article. Apparently, an information without words is inefficient to confer the entire story.

To pen down the compendium, both words and pictures have their own benefits in conveying a message. Tacitly, their duo makes the best combination in showcasing a condensed and an expanded view simultaneously which is essential to maintain the right balance for a remarkable customer experience.