It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Distinguishing between benign and malign deeds is essential for everyone, especially children because it helps them to make the right decision. In this regard, it is emphasized that children should be taught this difference from their childhood. In order to make them understand this difference, punishing them sometimes become mandatory. I agree with the notion that punishment is necessary, but it should be carried amicably. This essay will delineate the reasoning behind this agreement and will share the opinion on the type of punishments that parents or teachers should be permitted.

One of the preponderant reasons for punishing children is to make them realize their bad habits so that they refrain performing the same actions in the future. Children have a volatile memory due to which they have a higher tendency of forgetting their actions. It is where punishment aids them to remember the feelings and instance which caters them in avoiding the same mistakes every time. This could be best exemplified by my childhood experience when I had a malevolent habit of stealing articles from shops which I successively did even after my mother’s continuous warnings. But, one fine day when I was penalized for my acts then my evils came to an end which was solely because of the feelings I embraced during the punishment.

The way punishment is vital for learning, similarly, selecting the type of punishment is crucial. It ought to be light, friendly and constructive otherwise it may harm their self-confidence which in turn would hinder their growth. The most appropriate activity is to involve them in household or school disciplines such as dusting, cleaning or assisting in administrative task etc. By doing this parents and teachers get a helping hand and simultaneously it develops a sense of responsibility in kids too.

To pen down the compendium, punishments can be utilized as a helping tool to make youngsters realize their mistakes, but its selection has to be performed wisely such that it does not strain their personality.