Nowadays celebrities are mainly famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

It is common in the contemporary world that many eminent people are primarily known for their fame and affluence rather than their talents, which has a negative impact on the younger generations. I completely agree with this statement. The reasons are twofold.

To begin with, most celebrities potraying their opulence are usually infamous for the wrong reasons since they do not actually have the skills to present to an audience. For instance, the Kardashians are well-known for simply being extremely rich and flaunting their extravagant lifestyle. In reality, they hardly have any commercial success. So, young people want to achieve the same kind of stratum in society. They have a feeling that anyone can become wealthy by following in the footsteps of such people. Hard work and education, therefore, take a back seat. If youngsters are not educated or dedicated to working hard, they can face dire repurcussions in the future, since less educated people in ordinary society are not able to make a proper living.

Furthermore, young people may try to emulate the way of life of super-stars, and as a result, may turn into prodigal people. In order to defray the expenses of a luxurious life, they may resort to crime. The chances of juvenile delinquencies may rise. Besides this, they may also find themselves in deep debt, which may take years to pay off. Obviously, when a young person faces such problems, it seems inevitable that they will have severe depression and anxiety issues. The more young people try to imitate their favourite stars, the greater the injurious impact it can engender in terms of financial stability and mental health.

To conclude, since younger generations appear to relinquish hard work and education, tend to commit crimes, and suffer mental illness, this is a sign of the decadence of those who follow people who are well-known for their glamorous lives and opulence in lieu of their successful work.