Nowadays, children mostly spend time playing computer games rather than sports. What are the reasons for this ? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that, in todays world teenagers prefer playing video games than outdoor activities. I believe negative effects outweigh positive development.

There are several reasons why spend more time on indoor activities. Firstly, many of them are addicted to computer and video games, after crossing each level of game, they spend more time playing attentively. Secondly, most of the parents buy this new technology for their off springs, so that children will be playing in front of them and will not go outside. Lastly, children get less free time from studies, so they prefer spending on laptop or mobile games.

There are other factors which could have detrimental effects on adolescents while playing computer games. Children could suffer from eye diseases, by constantly looking at screen while playing. There are chances, they might suffer from obesity, as there is no physical movement of body. Another important factor is children might get diverted from studies which could affect their academic scores. In recent medical study, it is shown that around 60% of children are suffering from severe health diseases because of playing video games. It is also believed that communication gap is increasing between their peers and family members.

To sum up, I believe there are more negative effects than positive effects by playing computer games and parental observation should be there on children and also they should encourage children to participate in outdoor sports activity. Parents and teachers should also impart knowledge to the children about the exercises which could be performed easily.