Today more counties import food from different parts of the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Over the last few years, it has been observed that food products are imported from different countries. While there are many benefits, shipping in edible items, there are also some drawbacks to consider. In this essay, I will discuss some of the pros and cons associated with it and support my view with examples.

There are several advantages associated with transportation of food. In some countries, there are barren lands or due to some climatic conditions, vegetables or fruits are not grown on a larger scale, so taking this into consideration transportation of food from other parts of the world is the best option. Due to snowfall in Canada around six months, the food products are imported from Italy. Another factor which can be considered is people can relish on seasonal fruits which are grown in various nation. For example, there are fruits like Kiwi and apples which are not grown in India but all Indians can relish on it because of trade. Nowadays, many people are migrating so to get the food products such as spices and dairy products from their home country, they prefer to pay hefty amount which could help to increase the economy of the country.

On the contrary, there are also disadvantages associated with it. There could be a loss of precious economy to the international market if the food is imported on the regular basis and on larger scale. Also, there could be a heavy usage of preservatives to increase the shelf life of the product. Due to consumption of such types of food might affect the health of people.

To sum up, every coin has two sides. Importing food has positive and negative on people and economy growth.