Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Nowadays, industrialization has made importing food widely popular. this has benefitted the countries who are facing shortage in food and has been beneficial for the public. On the contrary, importing food item render setbacks for the local business and some health risks may occur too. this essay will elaborate the pros and cons of importing food.

To begin with, countries with poor agriculture are highly befitted through the flourishment of importing food. In other words, facing the challenge of food shortage has become easier to overcome. For instance, Germany is importing tea from Sri Lanka and india. some European countries are fully dependent on New Zealand for liquid milk. As a result, government are not worrying about food shortage due to the failure of agriculture anymore. In addition to that, the international relationship between the importing country and other country is improving through this business partnership. To elaborate, more partnership possibilities may arise through this. If exporting company representatives are visiting the importing country, then they will develop better ideas about the local culture. A report from The Economist has shown that importing food has been identified as one of the primary criteria by diplomats recently that strengthens international relation.

On the other hand, one of the disadvantage of importing food is that the local business may become start facing failure. To be precise, the competition of foreign goods in local market may cost the local manufacturer and farmers to face lose. For instance, a survey by World health Organization has reported that 45% of the local food item goes out of market when they can not survive in the market in competition with foreign market. Also, health risk for the public may increase as the imported items are sometime not authentic and may have been sold even after the expiry date. Although it is illegal to sell those type of food, but the health ministry and mobile court cannot observe and varify fully as much as they can for local item. recently, an investigative reporting has shown that half of the foreign products been sold in Delhi's super market are selling duplicate items saying it to be imported. As the imported company does not have any outlet in india, there was nobody to identify or take an action on this. A number of people's health might have suffered due to this issue.

To conclude, there are blessings and drawbacks both when we think of importing food. it is a highly sensitive issue, and proper policy and law should be made to reduce the negative effects and make the most of the advantage it offer.