Nowadays individuals take their family with them to abroad whenever they go for a business trip. What are the advantages and disadvantages on individual and on his/her family?

With the advent of modern civilization, there has been a radical change in way people do things. They are known to let their loved ones join them on their official trips, not a case in yesteryears. Unarguably, there are certain merits associated with this practice including opportunity to spend extra time with their family, along with preparing their children to take bigger roles in future. However, numerous drawbacks including work disturbance and negative impact on relationship, have proven to be true in nature.

Undoubtedly, humans today are known to have a wider mindset. And for this reason, they are enthusiastic with the idea of having their family members beside them, every time they get chance of. Therefore, these trips enhance their chance of spending more time with their dear ones. And because of these trips, family members are less accustomed to feel deprived, a normal thing these days because of work overload. Moreover, it helps in making younger generation get ready for the future responsibilities, as they would be the one taking over. These trips enables them to gain interest in business, along with vacationing. To exemplify, one of the article from economic times revealed that most business class people in today’s generation fancy involving respective family members in their enterprise in order to make them ready for future roles. Eventually, resulting in making the upcoming generation gain meaningful insights of work and preparing them well ahead of time.

Although, there are some good advantages that one can have by following this practice, there are certain demerits that can cause adverse effects. Having family members on a work trip can cause disturbance at crucial times. In other words, they may cause humiliation by attending unauthorized meetings and official parties. Additionally, family may not enjoy accompanying the concerned person to these trips as he/she is bound to work, instead of having a gala time with his/her loved ones. This in turn, can have a detrimental impact on their relationship, which sometime leads to life changing decisions. One such example of this is of my uncle and his family. Because of his regular meetings, he had to take his family along with him. This actually backfired and became the root cause of their divorce. Furthermore, these trips are generally known to be short in nature, hence proving to be nothing but a waste of time for other family members.

To conclude, no one can deny the fact that there has been a surge wherein business trips are not limited merely to business these days. People are known to take advantage of these trips by on boarding their family members as this not only provides them with extra family time, but also helps in providing exposure to the upcoming generation, making them experienced enough to take on larger roles. Having said that, disadvantages like disturbing effect on relationship, as well as, work related disturbance, are going to exist side by side.