Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep.

What problems can lack of sleep cause?

What can be done about lack of sleep?

In present times, getting sufficient hours of sleep has become an issue for many people. In this essay, I will shed some light on some of the negative impact of sleeplessness on humans as well as discussing the possible solutions to overcome that problem.

To begin with, one of the most common disturbances that can be caused by the continuous short of sleep is blood pressure increase. Indeed, it has been reported that not having enough hours daily could elevate pressure readings. It is not only hypertension, as a long list of medical complications such as dizziness, general exhaustion, loss of concentration, and even easy loss of temper have been indicated by individuals experienced insomnia on nights. As a result, that could risk our brain's vital functions and cause unfavourable effects on its pivotal performance when 6-8 hours of sleep daily is considered non-negotiable rest.

In consideration of solutions, psychologists and cardiologists advised that 30 - 60 minutes of physical exercise or yoga could be very beneficial for the heart health and mental wellbeing. Getting a sport session right before bedtime may help the body entering a relax mode. Besides, that would expel negative thoughts and troublesome feelings out of our brain, which in turn, could hinder proper sleep cycles. Secondly, as a terrible habit in the technology era, people incline to use their smartphones and tablets inside the bed. Undoubtedly, exposure to screen lights at bedtime could disturb our abilities to sleep well. Hence, a useful tip to mitigate that effect is to turn off these devices and keep it away from our hands by at least 2 hours before getting into bed.

In conclusion, sleep difficulty is a modern problem connected to our mindset and lifestyle. Despite, it carries lots of drastic unhealthy effects, quick actions such as regular exercise and change in harmful habits potentially help in mitigating the problem.