Nowadays media should include more good news in their publications. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Media plays a vital role in spreading information worldwide. However, It is argued that mass media, such as newspapers, the internet and news channels should publish plenty of pleasant news. I am in complete discord with this statement and believe that the primary focus should be on broadcasting uncertain events because of the importance of these events and influence on a wide audience.

There would be a lack of awareness of real facts if public announcements include only favourable information. With regard to general awareness, it is important that a common man should be aware of other unpleasant events, such as current crime rate, war situation and occurrence of any natural disaster across the globe. In the absence of such news, people would be unable to take any precautionary measures and most likely face safety issues. For instance, the recurrent terrorist attacks are more frequent on border areas of certain countries and excluding the coverage of such critical activities may put tourists in trouble while their visit to nearby areas.

Another reason for publishing unusual news is its dominance over headlines. This means that rare facts are more compelling than regular ones. Moreover, it is psychologically proven that 80% of the readers are more enticed to read odd news as compared to ordinary headlines. Therefore, to seek public attention on political matters, such as corruption, it is important to highlight such issues through media. Income tax raid on political leaders' properties is a prime example when media exposes corrupted leaders in front of the whole nation.

In conclusion, even though there is an argument of covering up more prosperous news by media, I am in favour of highlighting the more unpleasant stories because of the aforementioned reasons for public awareness and recognition.