Nowadays people are less fit and healthy than they were in the past which could affect their long-term health. why do you think this is? what can be done to solve this problem?

In the contemporary era, people are usually physically unfit and unhealthy compared to earlier times, which would have detrimental effects on their health. People may not maintain their health because less physical work in modern times or intake of ineffective healthy diet. Nevertheless, these problems can be solved with a change in their lifestyle and adopt a healthy diet in their daily routine.

To begin with, nowadays, most people prefer to do sedentary work or less physically challenging tasks, whereas in the past, people had to do more laborious work. Since technology has been advancing in the last few decades, labour intensive work has become so easy that it makes an individual lethargic and prone to the diseases. For example, people in the digital age prefer to go by car for short distances rather than go by foot, by which a person can burn his calories and stay healthy. Secondly, the consumption of unhealthy diet which makes the body weak and triggers many diseases such as diabetes, heart strokes and obesity. However, in early times, people used to take rich nutrient food that could make them physically and mentally fit.

Although there are health issues these days, these can be solved with the collective efforts of people and the government. Firstly, there is a need to alter the sedentary lifestyle and people should adopt a healthy lifestyle by giving adequate time to physical exercises. In addition, the government should promote physical fitness by reducing taxes on exercise equipment and sports products. As a result, people would be encouraged to play games and apply for gymnasium subscriptions. Lastly, the government should impose heavy taxes on junk food chains which would discourage people from eating unhealthy food. For instance, some governments have started healthy food programs for their citizens and raised the duty on sugary and fast food brands for the promotion of healthy life among people.

To sum up, the modern world has more health issues due to their sedentary lifestyle and lack of nutritious diet in their daily schedule. While, it could be solved with government strict text policy on unhealthy food providers and people make a habit of exercise or play sports in a routine.