Nowadays, pollution and waste levels are increasing rapidly. How does this affect ordinary people? What steps can be taken to overcome this problem?

The drastic increase in pollution and waste level has adverse effects on human health. This situation could be improved if adequate waste management techniques were implemented in the first place, and appropriate actions were taken by the government to control the pollution.

Public health deterioration is the most serious danger associated with the surge in pollution and waste level. With regard to pollution, the high use of diesel and petrol vehicles, especially private cars and bikes, deteriorates the air quality with the emission of toxic gases. This polluted air causes severe respiratory diseases and also dangerous for our lungs. The increased level of garbage produced is another major health concern for the general public. As a result of this rise, waste is not efficiently disposed of, and overflowing dustbins and cluttered streets become an ideal breeding ground for bacteria, insects and vermin, which leads to disease outbreak such as, dengue fever, food poisoning and flu.

Government initiatives and efficient waste management could offer the best chance of reducing the health risks related to the rise in pollution and waste level. As far as the role of government is concerned, public awareness should be spread to use more public transport for work and how the use of it could control air pollution. People should also be encouraged to use bicycle and eco-friendly cars. This would have a significant improvement in air quality. As for the waste level control, people should be guided to change the existing practice to dump the garbage. This could be achieved by reducing the daily produced junk, recycling the rubbish as much as we can, and segregating the litter into different bins before dumping it. By doing so, the waste level could be reduced.

In conclusion, growing pollution and increased rubbish level impact the general public health in many ways. This problem can be alleviated by the government's appropriate response and with fundamental reform in waste management.