Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years technological advancements have been so rapidly integrated into our life's. Many times we are unaware of the fact we are under constant monitoring via surveillance systems and location tracking. Whenever we use any form of communication devices government tracks each activity. Is this, however a development we should welcome?

Certainly there are benefits for having such surveillance. Having such close observations is quite necessary in some cases. This is to prevent terrorism and illegal activities. Such information systems help us in identifying hidden patterns used by criminals while communicating with each other. Government bodies can thus take necessary steps to prevent catastrophic events. For instance, a person who is kidnapped can easily call 911 and the police can locate the whereabouts of suspect or victim.

On the other hand, there are a number of concerns. In countries where human rights are ignored, use of cameras and listening devices can be harmful to society. People should be able to hold meetings or express their opinions without their privacy being invaded. Another issue we should consider is. Nowadays, people upload their personal information and photographs into social networking sites; they often do not realize how easy it is for other people to view this information or for the site owner to use the data or photos for their own financial gain.

To sum up, it is inevitable that there will be more and more ways to monitor society in future. However, it is our responsibility to evaluate new technology and decide whether it will do more harm than good. Surely, our freedom is more valuable than technological progress.