Nowadays young people are preferred more as compared with old people applying for same jobs. What are the reasons? What are some possible solutions for the problem?

Competition has become very common in every field.Eventually this has led to unemployment in senior citizens as most of the employers prefer the young crowd. This essay will discuss few steps that should be taken to cure the problem.

Undoubtedly, the youth of our country are energetic, enthusiastic and have broad vision. The young ones are preferred more when the company recruits people for particular vacancy. This is because, adults having the basic qualification for the particular job are chosen over the highly skilled and experienced people, as they are ready to take up the job with less salary.

Nevertheless, there are some ways that might resolve the issue of jobless old people. Firstly, the public authority should reduce the retirement age from 65 to 60 years. It is observed that people’s body start to wear and tear in their early 60’s, which was not the scenario in earlier days. Hence, by bringing the retirement age to 60 years it would help senior people to work effectively before their body stop supporting them to work hard.

Secondly, there are many jobs where experience maters as compared with qualification. For instance, in politics as well in police force, a person with more experience are required. Although, young propensity can work hard and think out of the box, but it is the experienced one which gives more fruitful results. Also for positions in higher management experience should be given preference. As only height trained and skilled people can prove their role for such vacancies.

To recapitulate, higher rate of unemployment is observed in senior citizen due to competition with youth. This can be resolved by decreasing the retirement age and also by considering experience rather than education for few vacancies.