Online, people write opinions and reviews of services. Is it a good thing or bad thing.?

In recent years, online review, as well as the rating system, is getting a great deal of attention throughout the business world. Most importantly, it has been a bone of contention among the critics regarding its true implication without biasness. While some people contend that reviews are misleading, however, I strongly believe that it has tremendous positives for both the consumer and the service provider end.

Firstly, this feedback system on product or service helps other customers to get a real idea of their desired product or service beforehand. This means, where available, the potential new customer will get a concrete overview from another old customer who shared his experience. This will help that new client to take the major decision on buying that given product or service rather than simply depending on price and other details of the specification. The benefits can be exemplified in many industries, particularly the tourism industries and other e-commerce business. Here, any tourist can get real feedback of his hotel at the tourist destination before confirming the booking and that helps him to take the right decision without any hazard. Similar benefits have been observed while purchasing electronic gadgets, for example, via online sites. Now people are becoming more conscious before spending money, so they meticulously read the product review of the same product in different social platforms e.g. youtube, facebook pages as well as e-commerce site of that seller although sometimes it seems to hard to get the reviews of all the products.

Secondly, besides helping the customers to choose the right product, it helps to grow any new startup business in terms of developing potential new customers pool. What I mean here is that even for a good product or service, it will not be sold unless it is informed to other clients. Therefore, the product reviews, most importantly, serve as an advertising to the new clients. It is not surprising to see that the new entrepreneurs now ask for a review whenever they serve any new customer, as they know it will make a snowball effect on their business in the long run. Despite having some little controversy on authenticity, the same thing is being observed in different websites, where the business owners, for instance, intentionally promote the reviews of the satisfied customers on the home page so that it can transmit a positive impression to other customers too.

All things considered, the online review panel helps both the seller and buyer for a particular product or service. Undoubtedly, I think this positive development will be treated as a buying decision parameter in the future business world.