Personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Storing customers' data by public and private organizations is the issue of concern in this cutting-edge era. I personally opine that the trend is more advantageous for customers and companies.

Perhaps the most significant benefit of this phenomenon is faster communication. Pre-stored customers' profiles assist companies to make contact with customers, if they need to inform people about delivery situation of products or services. Additionally, people can also benefit from the recorded information, as they would not need to record a large amount of data for checking a service day in and day out. Tracking post parcels is the most obvious example, which is possible by entering your personal details, address and phone number. As a result, recording details and information of individuals could make services convenient and timesaving.

In contrary, some people maybe say that companies and institutes do not have the suitable infrastructures to secure data, playing up the importance of data security. Hackers are able to steal identity to do criminal activities. In addition, if some hackers access financial information and transactions, they can empty bank accounts in a matter of seconds. Nevertheless, I believe that these aspects have been already solved, by using firewalls and anti-hacking software. There is no reason to be worry about data theft, since cyber criminals know that their activities would be traced easily.

In conclusion, as any other phenomenon, the data storing on internet would have merits and demerits, however, I am of the opinion that its advantages would outweigh the disadvantages.