The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicines. Government funding should reflect this.

To what extent do you agree?

Single phrase “Prevention is better than cure” carries a deeper meaning in it. Every individual need to consider safeguarding their health from problems, so that chance of treatment can be reduced drastically. I completely agree that, with the appropriate divergence of government funding in this direction, major revolution can be achieved for successful implementation of motto “Health is Wealth”

Firstly, we need to understand that, by adopting healthy habits, we can reduce chances of illness. It will not only keep our body physically fit but also lead to colossal savings in our monetary and time resources. Negligence in maintaining adequate precautions, which results in weak body and may result in lackluster performance at workplace. For instance, a night without sleep will lead to week immune system and lower concentration at workplace. Healthy population can become a treasure of any country. The country without diseases and illness will face a long term growth in its national income.

Secondly, maintenance of healthy lifestyle demands tremendous efforts on government part. Country need to divert its funding in spreading awareness and delivering the right atmosphere in the country. Neither any individual nor any single corporate house, on its own, can take up this large scale project. Moreover, government need to curb on advertisements, which promote medicines. As an example, any medicine advertisement extends an implicit message that even if somebody does not take care of himself, we are there to cure. Dedicated budget need to be allocated for awareness campaigns, necessary prizes for healthy individuals, free yearly medical checkup camps for early determination of diseases should be set up. Since plastic is major cause behind diseases, accordingly, hefty taxes should be levied on it. Towards better future, nation need to invest today. Before considering any short term gains, government need to loose today to attain objectives of healthy future.

To conclude, it is rightly said that “Health soul resides in Healthy Body” We completely admits that preventing body from illness is everyone’s duty towards himself, his family and to the nation as a whole. Government role is crucial towards the attainment of long term vision.