Raising the price of the oil will solve the world's environmental problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying to the fact that the burning of fossil fuel has detrimental effect on the environment. A school of thought believes, increasing the crude oil price should resolve this matter as people would drop its usage due to its cost. However, I strongly disagree with the statement, believing that people cannot limit their needs due to price. Although expensive, they will continue to consume it until they have an alternate option to oil.

To begin with, the crude oil is indispensable energy resource and is used enormously in daily transportation. Obviously, one cannot stop traveling; which means that he will buy it and use it. Consequently, every single use of petrol or diesel would contribute to the environmental degradation. For instance, every year the government raises the fuel price but still the number of vehicles in the city continue to increase and the environmental degradation never stops.

The people are habituated with the convenience of using non-renewable sources of energy and they would not ban automobiles and machines running on these sources. Admittedly, this can only be possible if the alternative option is discovered. Thus, the environmental hazards cannot alleviate with price-rise but would surely prove beneficial with the eco-friendly options. A very good example of this is compressed natural gas engines which have gained popularity due to its eco-friendly nature.

On the contrary, it can be argued that all people cannot afford buying fuel at high price, which would definitely decrease the oil consumption, resulting into better and healthier environment. Hence, according to some people, the environment can be benefitted to some extent.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that oil rates do not help in keeping the environment clean. Inventing the creative solutions, which can be used as an alternative option can aid in amending the environment as well as keeping it pure and safe for the future generation.