Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Reading and watching films and television are some of the many activities people engage in for the purpose of entertainment. Both activities can inspire the imagination, yet in my opinion, reading stimulates the imagination much more than watching films and television.

Reading stimulates the mind as the reader needs to visualize what is described in a book. However, this is not always the case when watching a film or television because all the characters, situations and places are presented in detail for the viewer, complete with sound and special effects. In this sense, watching films is passive as very little is left to a person’s imagination. This is probably why people often choose to watch television or a film when they are tired or want to relax, as this activity does not require the mental effort that is necessary when reading.

Furthermore, reading is a process that can be controlled by each individual. Each person is free to decide when and at what speed to read, and to stop at any time to reflect on what they have just read. In addition, it usually takes a number of days or weeks to read a book, whereas films are usually over in two hours. Thus, the reader is engaged with a book for a much longer period of time and it can become a larger part of their life than a film.

In summary, films and television often stimulate the viewer’s thoughts and feelings in a way that books cannot, yet overall, reading is a more active process that exercises the mind and encourages a stronger sense of imagination.