In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays many people preference has been changed from small stores to the shopping arcade. The reason is they can shop under one roof and can avail the various promotional offer in such place compare to the society shops. These kind of developments are positive in many ways which I will explain further in the below essay.

Change is the part and parcel of life and it enhances the quality of life such as the replacement of local unit to the shopping centres. The reason behind people are lucrative towards it is, they give the various option to shopper under one umbrella, wherein, this facility is not available with small-time vendors which are affecting their business to the closure. According to the recent article in The Times of India, for example, says that the mall offers the experience to the buyer with a wide range of products to offer which makes customer happy to shop with them. As a result, the malls have become a favourite place for consumers.

Another merit why the trend of shopping arcades are inclining is the enormous discount offered by them on the market price. For instance, to attract more and more customers the mall-owners offer 20 -30 per cent of concession on the product which is not given by any local story and becomes a win-win situation for both and the loss is being buried by small business. Thus, to sustain in the market the society stores should come-out with an attractive strategy to sustaining the race of retail otherwise the consequence is detrimental.

In conclusion, the current rise in demand towards the shopping arcades is the reason for the loss in business to small shops because the services offered are customer-centric like availability of good under one place and offers.