In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that nowadays people are opting for the shopping malls for buying their needs which lead to the stoppage of local markets in neighboring. While the drawbacks of closing the small markets seem to be harmful, I believe that the benefits are more noteworthy.

On the one hand, the closure of small shopping markets could bring many difficulties for the owners. In fact, the stoppage of such businesses puts an enormous strain on the shopkeepers to fulfill their basic necessities. As a result, unemployment would be a main consequence of closing small businesses. Also, the owners who have not any qualified competencies to go for other occupations might be at risk of committing crimes to accommodate their needs. Therefore, governments must be conscious about the removing of small businesses, even if it is productive for society.

On the other hand, I would argue that people’s desire to purchase in shopping complex rather local stores comprises various reasons. Firstly, finding a suitable place for parking a car in a hectic street is more likely to a challenging issue, leading to choose an up-to-date shopping center with a spacious roofed area. At the same time, the traffic congestion and noise pollution could be increasingly curtailed in the streets in which main local shops has placed. Consequently, not only are these modern complexes extremely time-saving for people in purchasing different purposes, other facilities such as cinemas, food courts and theme parks for children would be more preferable to pick out such places.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the closure of local businesses due to people’s preference for huge shopping centers, is likely more effectiveness for community.