At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that, the population of younger people in some countries is noticeably more than elderly people. While the ageing population is of course essential, I personally believe that younger population should be considered as a vital lifeline for a community.

On the one hand, having more young adults in a community in comparison with the elderly can cause harmful impacts. In terms of unemployment issues, as the number of young people increases, finding an adequate job could be a severe challenging for everyone. In fact, oversupply of labor would lead to an unfair competition among applicants, possibly increase the amount of unemployment in a society. When it comes to basic necessities such as public services and a place to live, an enormous strain on the infrastructure of the cities will be laid by the over-young population. Eventually, there is no doubt that many youths might be at risk of committing crimes due to failing to find adequate work and therefore cannot afford.

On the other hand, I would argue that the benefits of having a great deal of youths cannot be neglected. Firstly, a creative environment in which young people would be encouraged to participate, can highly boost new ideas and innovations. Hence, vibrant workforce would be able to adopt new technologies and even accelerate productivity in an industrial country. Secondly, as long as we employ our younger generation, there will be an enhancement in economic growth in all aspects. As a result, the more force of workers available involve, the more efficiency gains. For example, money from taxes will not improve unless we have more workforce and younger population in the society which helps to accommodate public needs.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be better to have young adults rather than having more ageing population.