In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spend on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about how government should spend maximum expenses on public transportation. I believe that this expenditure should be used up for better public transmit in cities.

On the one hand, the advancement of technology has been increasing the need for convenient transportation in short notice in many countries. By renovating or building a modern railway network with high-speed train, most cities will be interacted in an effective way in terms of facilitate each other for premier developments. What’s more, there are lots of cities with various potential attributes such as port cities or industrial ones which would be able to cooperate and import products easily. Consequently, as far as employment opportunities has concerned, with a perfect transition, more individuals are likely to be satisfied to work at an unreasonable distance. In fact, the pace of life and efficiency, in balance, would be greater in each community.

On the other hand, I would argue that a suitable daily commuting is enormously effective in various aspects. Firstly, increasing urban population have led to corresponding increase in the number of vehicles on the streets, resulting in rising congestion in city centers. As a result, by facilitating public and limiting private cars the traffic jam would be regulated as far as possible. Secondly, it is often the case that poor public transport lead to detrimental issues like air pollution. Thus, people will not be encouraged to utilize public transmit, unless governments apply better public facilities as a potential solution which cause less pollution spontaneously. Finally, running efficient systems not only does the consumption of fossil fuels reduce, it definitely affects the time consuming by being in long-term traffic or out of date public transport services.

In conclusion, I accept the first view why people might more agree with spending money on modern railways for high-speed trains, but it seems to me that better public transportation is much more desirable.