Recently, many people know a few of their neighbors.

What is the cause of this problem?

What can be done to solve this problem?

Give reasons for your answer and any example from your own experience

Many people these days may not know the people living in their locality, not even the person living next door. While social media and Internet, and the cultural difference are the two main reason for this problem, there are solutions.

In my opinion, firstly, with the advancement of technology, and the advent of internet and social media has provided the ability to extend our relationships, but, it has made us far from the people living next to us. For instance, we contact people across the ocean at the click of a mouse, and communicate kind talks at two in the morning through social media. It has become common that people who live is the same locality, rarely know each other. People tend to forget that these neighbors are those individuals who come handy when you are in any emergency situation not the social media followers.

Secondly, all our communities have becoming more diverse. Most people fear what they do not understand, so when a neighbor from a different culture or religion moves in, an instant proneness to maintain distance goes up. The misfortune of this this scenario is, we all are sheltering ourselves from new relationships and becoming more self-centred.

Fortunately, there are solutions to this problem. Getting to know is the first step to create a healthy relationship with the neighboring people. Another way would be by arranging social gathering every once in a while. From my personal experience, if a new person moved in to your society, he should be welcomed properly. Initially by meeting him personally and greeting him. Then invite him to the society’s social gathering and introducing other members of the society. This is a chance to know the new members personally and understand his culture. This is for sure will create a great foundation for neighborhood unity.

To conclude, although these days fewer people know their neighbor, and the reason for this problem is social media and internet but with small effort, it is possible to create a supporting and understanding neighborhood.