Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life.

Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a meaning shared by some scientists that our genes are most important in personality’s forming and development. They’ve recently conducted a few observations that our experience doesn’t influence our personal views. I can’t totally agree with this statement, as I have enough proof from the real life that refutes exaggerated importance of people’ characteristics.

Few months ago, I watched TV program about Chinese orphan children. Most of them have unknown origin, they don’t know their parents, but young charges have a special education. Children started to study mature subjects in very young age. As a result, students in their teens able to think like an adult and take mature decisions. There are characteristics we are born with completely irrelevant.

Ukrainian psychologists consider that people’s experience and ability to travel influence their nature. It is very important for every one of us to learn about new countries, folks, their customs and list goes on and on. People ought to feel their own independence by travelling a lot. To give a clear example, famous people who spend most of their lives in aircrafts have an opposite view from common people who are always busy sitting in offices.

However, there is a small influence of our nature genes. From my own experience, I have some friends who choose a similar specialty with their parents. There is also possibility of coincidence, but I think genes could influence people differently.

In conclusion, I want to say that self-development is very important part of our life. There is no reason to be lackadaisical and avoid changes. Successful people should always broad their horizons to feel themselves better and have happier life than others. So our way of life indisputably have major influence.