Scientists agree that people ruin their health by eating junk food. Some people think that the best way to prevent people from eating junk food is to educate them, while others believe that this won’t work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The concept of junk food is flourishing by leaps and bound which increase the morbidity ratio across the globe. To control the situation some people consider awareness as the sole solution whereas others believe that heavy tax on unhealthy food and inversely subsidised rate on healthy items will better serve the purpose. This essay will discuss both views in details before reaching to any opinion.

To embark on, junk food is the root cause of various diseases such as obesity, hypertension and diabetes. People are less aware of fatal effects of such food on health consequently, consume these food in large portion which make themselves ill. According to research conducted in 2017 by WHO, World Health Organisation concludes that public awareness session on healthy diet and adverse effects of junk food has decreased the consumption by 25% in USA and compounding this ratio will be double by next year due to increase number of participants. Thus, it is clear that awareness is the key to change people's habit.

On contrary, is educating people for adverse effects of junk food is enough? Ofcourse not. Even the cigarette advertisement conveys that it is injurious to health but despite this people consume it. So as, with junk food. Increasing tax on such items and subsidising the healthy food will also motivate people to grab healthy food over junk food. Such practice was followed in Australia where tax on junk food increased by 20%. People withdraw to consume these foods and switch to healthy food. The argument that heavy taxes on junk food will better serve the purpose can not be debunked.

To conclude, health is remain the primary concern for people. The tug of war between healthy and junk food is constant. However, awareness might deter people to intake such food along with taxation on junk food and subsidy on healthy food would also benefit the people as a whole. In my opinion, it is predicted that Government has to take multiple initiatives together which would result in healthy nation.