Shopping has become a new favorite pastime for younger generations. Why is this the case? Should we encourage them to develop other hobbies too?

shopping has become an integral part of our life. young people are more attracted to this habit than older people and it has almost become their favorite hobby. while there are many reasons attributed to this habit such as increased spending power and peer influences, some people argue that they should be encouraged to spend their time wisely in other useful activities and I completely agree with that because time is the most precious thing in the world.

For one thing, the increased spending power is one of the main reasons for this addiction to shopping in our society. Compared to the past, there are many job opportunities available in the market and most of them are ready to pay fat paychecks. our young people now have plenty of disposable income they don’t know how to spend.

Secondly, they are easily getting influenced by their peers who might be doing window shopping almost every week, for no reasons. The recent survey conducted by SurveyMonkey.com on Bayshore shopping mall business in Kanata city, indicates that majority of their sales are coming from younger people who had just started their career..

Having said that, some people argue that our young society needs to be diverted and encouraged to spend their free time in more better and useful ways. I strongly agree with that, because the only thing that cannot be retrieved back is “the time”. Instead of spending time in shopping malls, we should encourage them to involve in physical activities such as sports and games. Or they can join a course that enhances their skill sets. For instance, those in the software field can spend their time in learning Artificial Intelligence which is growing very fast in today’s market.

In conclusion, while it is true that young people are getting attracted towards frequent shopping, they should be encouraged to spend their free time more wisely on activities that could help them to lead a more comfortable and healthy life.