In some areas of the US, a “ curfew” is imposed, in which teenagers are allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this ?

Curfew is a preventive measure users by the state to maintain law and order. Teenagers are barried from going outside of their homes alone late at night in some regions of the United States. In my opinion, it is a right action by the government as it provides safety and security to teenagers and makes their future free of crime

Curfew can protect teenagers from indulging in crime. In the United States, my places are a hotspot of criminal activities, where criminals, drug peddlers and habitual offenders become more active at night. They usually lure the youngers for helping them in committing a crime, who agree easily to do anything for money. Criminals can transport drugs, kill someone, and extort money from others with the assistance of naïve young people. Even if teenagers do not take part in any unawful, coming in contact with criminals can implicate them in lawsuits. However, accompanying parents or siblings can stop youngers from dealing with criminals. Thus, this measure prevents teenagers from becoming criminals.

Curfews also save young people from becoming a victim of crime. Robbery, chain snatching, extorting, murders and rape are common at night. Teenagers are not smart enough to escape from such situations. So they can be a soft target for criminals. But being with elders, teenagers are safe as criminals cannot harm them in the presence of adults. Adults can defend youngsters in case of any attack. The United States Department of Homeland Security, for instance, published a result report on the implications of late-night curfews in Florida. The report asserted a sixty-five per cent reduction in unlawful activites against teenagers. Therefore, curfews can potentially save teenagers from the danger of crime.

In conclusion, measures such as restricting the movement of teenagers in late-night resorts by the state to provide safety and security to them. Late- night curfews for teenagers not only save them from becoming the victim of crime but also stop them from becoming criminals. Thereby, curfews in the United States are for the protection and safety of the young generation.